Chasing after stories that have already been told

I know where you carry such a fragile load
But I’ve got yours and you’ve got mine

Chasing after stories that have already been told

It’s been a while since I joined in, but Strawberry Singh’s ‘Mean Comments’ Meme was one I had to get involved in.

I’ve kind of addressed how I feel about assholes online in my Don’t be a dick post, but here goes:

  1. Have you ever been subjected to mean comments online by strangers? If not, then skip to question #5. – Strangers acquaintances and former friends.
  2. How did you respond to them? – Depends who and why – my go to response these days is to block and ignore.
  3. How did they make you feel? – I guess they’re intended to make me feel shitty, and when I first started on plurk, they would.  Nowadays I focus on the fact that someone must really hate themselves to try and pass it on to anyone else.
  4. Can you share some of the mean comments you’ve received and your thoughts on them? – I think the ones about my looks or my weight or whatever are mostly just pathetic, so I kinda get past that.  The one that shocked me most was on one of my early blog posts.  On my birthday I’d been blogging less than a month, and opened up about my prior history with depression.  I got a few lovely responses to the post, and then someone responded with ‘I wish you had fucking died’.  That really shook me, as you’d expect.  I am glad I am, and was at the time, mentally healthy, because if I hadn’t been, that could’ve caused one hell of a spiral. I am thankful that I am in a good place, and don’t have to resort to wishing people I dislike dead.
  5. Have you ever ridiculed or negatively commented on someone else’s work, actions or personality with the intention to hurt them? – I can’t necessarily think of a specific example, but I am a human, and I probably have.  I hate bullies though, so I like to think it’s not a part of me.  I am sure there’ll be someone to comment differently!

Nails: A.S.S / Black Drama / French

Hair: little bones. / Feline / Ombres and Roots

Dress: Gizza / Cara Dress / Black – Available at Shiny Shabby

Necklace: Sweet Poison & On A Lark / Captured Buds Necklace / Paperwhites – Available at Love and War Fair

Shoes:  Pure Poison / Amy Flats / Black

Eyes: Mons / DualColor Eyes / Darkness

Skin: Pink Fuel / Harley / Vanilla

Hands: Slink – AvEnhance Hands / Casual

Feet: Slink – AvEnhance Feet / Flat

Pose: elephante poses / Dream About Flying / 4

 

Leave a Reply

